Director : Habib BENALI
Faculté de Médecine Pierre et Marie Curie - Site Pitié-Salpétrière
91 Bd de l'Hôpital - F-75634 PARIS cedex 13 (FRANCE)
tel : +33 (0)1 53 82 84 00 - fax : +33 (0)1 53 82 84 48 - e-mail : lif@imed.jussieu.fr

Research teams

- Parametric imaging of brain activity and metabolism (IMPARABL)
- Imaging of flow, cardiac function, microcirculation and tissue exchange

Scientific project

Functional imaging opens up a wide field of human investigation and is also at the origin of recent developments in the imaging of molecular and cellular interactions in small animals.

The LIF wants to propose, on the basis of targeted applications, a multimodal approach capable of extracting, from medical images, relevant and validated biomarkers represented in the form of parametric maps or regional parameters. The reliability of these biomarkers is based on the complete consideration of physical, physiological and/or physiopathological phenomena which have contributed to the formation of images. Improving their sensitivity allows earlier detection of pathologies and better therapeutic follow-up. Validation is based on rigorous evaluation of the contribution of our developments for clinical or cognitive application. Finally, the validated methods will be made available to the users of functional imaging via software platforms.

The project is organised around two teams sharing common methodologies and imaging methods, and by developing complementary applications in neurofunctional, cardiovascular and oncological imaging.

Team 1 “«Parametric imaging of brain activity and metabolism (IMPARABL)»” is working on the physiological, metabolic and mathematical modelling of cerebral activity starting from neurofunctional imaging and in particular:

Team 2 “«Imaging of flow, cardiac function, microcirculation and tissue exchange»” is working on estimating parameters relating to hemodynamics, contractility, perfusion and tissue exchanges, and in particular:

The Laboratoire International de Neuroimagerie et Modélisation (LINeM), co funded by Inserm, the university « Pierre et Marie Curie » and the university of Montréal is part of the LIF.

 

Key words

Medical imaging, computer model, magnetic resonance imaging, microscopy, optical imaging, radionuclide imaging, ultrasonography, Alzheimer’s disease, cardiovascular diseases, medical oncology, neurosciences

Directeur : Habib BENALI
Faculté de Médecine Pierre et Marie Curie - Site Pitié-Salpétrière
91 Bd de l'Hôpital - F-75634 PARIS cedex 13 (FRANCE)
tel : +33 (0)1 53 82 84 00 - fax : +33 (0)1 53 82 84 48 - e-mail : lif@imed.jussieu.fr

Equipes de recherche

- Imagerie PARamétrique de l'Activité et du métaBolisme cérébral: IMPARABL
- Imagerie du flux, de la fonction cardiaque, de la microcirculation et des échanges tissulaires

Projet scientifique

L’imagerie fonctionnelle ouvre un large champ d’investigation sur l’homme et est également à l’origine des développements récents de l’imagerie des interactions moléculaires et cellulaires sur le petit animal.

Le LIF a pour objectifs de proposer, à partir d’applications ciblées, une approche multimodalité permettant d’extraire du contenu des images médicales, des biomarqueurs pertinents et validés. La fiabilité de ces biomarqueurs repose sur une prise en compte complète des phénomènes physiques et physiologiques et/ou physiopathologiques ayant contribué à la formation des images. L’amélioration de leur sensibilité contribue à une détection plus précoce des pathologies et à un meilleur suivi thérapeutique. La validation repose sur une évaluation rigoureuse de l’apport de nos développements pour l’application clinique ou cognitive. Enfin les méthodes validées seront mises à disposition des utilisateurs d'imagerie fonctionnelle au moyen de plateformes logicielles.

Le projet est organisé autour de deux équipes partageant des méthodologies et des modalités d’imagerie communes, et développant des applications complémentaires en imagerie neurofonctionnelle, cardiovasculaire et oncologique.

L’équipe 1 «Imagerie PARamétrique de l'Activité et du métaBolisme cérébral: IMPARABL» travaille sur la modélisation physiologique, métabolique et mathématique de l’activité cérébrale à partir de l’imagerie neurofonctionnelle et notamment :

L’équipe 2 «Imagerie du flux, de la fonction cardiaque, de la microcirculation et des échanges tissulaires» travaille sur l’estimation de paramètres hémodynamiques, de contractilité, de perfusion et d’échanges tissulaires, et notamment :

Le Laboratoire International de Neuroimagerie et Modélisation (LINeM) créé par l’Inserm, l’université Pierre et Marie Curie et l’Université de Montréal fait partie intégrante du LIF.

Mots-clés

Imagerie médicale, modélisation, imagerie de résonance magnétique, microscopie, imagerie optique, imagerie en médecine nucléaire, échographie, Alzheimer, maladies cardiovasculaires, oncologie médicale, neurosciences.